Network     Dungeon Fighter Source    |    Dragon Nest Source
Home Forums Mods Requests Guides
Welcome to the largest Dragon Nest Modification database, bringing texture and audio mods to Dragon Nest NA & Global.

Go Back   Dragon Nest Modification Community > Modifications > Guides & Tutorials

Old 09-23-2011, 09:46 AM   #1
Curisu

Send a message via MSN to Curisu
Default Using DN Mod Tools & Minor Modding(EXTREMELY BASIC)

Noticed a lot of people on here are posting for how to guides for how to use these tools and how to rename. While we have quite a few guides here, most of these guides seem to be for people who know at least a little about editing/modding games files and not "total newb" friendly. Here is my attempt and hope it helps a few people.

Note to more advanced/experienced users:
If I make a mistake somewhere, please correct me.

Table of Contents
Change Log:
- Added a video showing how to open .pak files.
- Re-wrote the guide for a simpler to use .pak maker/opener and removed the video since it was for the old .pak file editing programs.
- Added a new question to the F.A.Q. for those wondering what to do if you do not have a .skn file to re-name. Also corrected a few mistakes to make this a bit easier to understand.

Last edited by Curisu; 01-17-2012 at 10:34 AM.
Curisu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2011, 09:47 AM   #2
Curisu

Pre-section:
First off, before I even give you the tools, you will need either "WinRAR" or "7-zip" in order to open the folder that the tools are in(along with quite a few downloads on this forum). What is "WinRAR"/"7-zip" you ask? Putting it in simple terms, it allows you to open .rar and .zip files. The download links "WinRAR" and "7-zip" are posted below(just install one of them with their default settings).

WinRAR
Pros:
  • Seems to have a more user friendly interface(in my opinion).
  • Can make and open both ".zip" and ".rar" files.
Cons: